Ativan (Oral) Reviews - Page 14| daily health (2023)

Table of Contents
Qualifiedwith panic disorder/agoraphobiaMessage Qualifiedwith panic disorder/agoraphobiaMessage Qualifiedin generalized anxiety disorder (GAD)Message Qualifiedwith panic disorder/agoraphobiaMessage Qualifiedfor insomniaMessage Qualifiedin generalized anxiety disorder (GAD)Message Qualifiedfor insomniaMessage Qualifiedwith panic disorder/agoraphobiaMessage Qualifiedwith panic disorder/agoraphobiaMessage Qualifiedfor OCDMessage Qualifiedin generalized anxiety disorder (GAD)Message Qualifiedwith panic disorder/agoraphobiaMessage Qualifiedfor bipolar I disorderMessage Qualifiedin generalized anxiety disorder (GAD)Message Qualifiedwith panic disorder/agoraphobiaMessage Qualifiedwith panic disorder/agoraphobiaMessage Qualifiedwith panic disorder/agoraphobiaMessage Qualifiedfor insomniaMessage Qualifiedin generalized anxiety disorder (GAD)Message Qualifiedfor insomniaMessage Qualifiedin generalized anxiety disorder (GAD)Message Qualifiedwith panic disorder/agoraphobiaMessage Qualifiedin post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)Message Qualifiedfor insomniaMessage Qualifiedin generalized anxiety disorder (GAD)Message Qualifiedwith panic disorder/agoraphobiaMessage Qualifiedwith panic disorder/agoraphobiaMessage Qualifiedin post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)Message Qualifiedwith panic disorder/agoraphobiaMessage Qualifiedfor insomniaMessage Qualifiedwith panic disorder/agoraphobiaMessage Qualifiedin generalized anxiety disorder (GAD)Message Qualifiedfor social phobia (social anxiety disorder)Message Qualifiedfor insomniaMessage Qualifiedfor bipolar I disorderMessage

4.5 stars

Posted 220 months ago (07/20/2004) 4

Qualifiedwith panic disorder/agoraphobiaMessage

miracle pill!! I have been taking Ativan 1mg every other day for 3 months for panic attacks and anxiety. You did a great job! I would take one every day, but I'm afraid of becoming addicted from what I've read. I am able to deal with situations that would normally scare me, such as traveling and driving on highways. When I take Ativan, I don't even worry about the possibility of a panic attack like I usually do. I have not experienced any side effects at all. My doctor prescribed Zoloft for me about a month ago. I tried it for 2 days with terrible side effects! The Ativan really works for me so I really don't want to try anything else, especially SSRIs. The only thing that worries me is that my doctor stops prescribing me because of the dependency issue. It doesn't make sense to me that they could stop prescribing something that was really effective for my panic attacks. I never take more than one pill every other day. All in all, Ativan has been a miracle and has definitely made my life better.

Message

5 stars

Posted 221 months ago (7/11/2004) 5

Qualifiedwith panic disorder/agoraphobiaMessage

It's not good in the long run. I took Ativan 0.5 mg 3 times a day for 5 months. It worked fabulously at first, especially for sleep. Over time, however, your body gets used to the dose and it no longer works. It sounds like you need to keep increasing the dosage to get the same effect. While I still occasionally take Ativan when I'm feeling particularly high, I now rely solely on Lexapro (SSRIs). Overall I really liked Ativan, it's extremely effective, but definitely not something you want to take every day for more than 1-2 months.

Message

5 stars

Posted 221 months ago (7/1/2004) 5

Qualifiedin generalized anxiety disorder (GAD)Message

It does the trick for me, I have suffered from anxiety for about 12 years. Usually I just care, but every once in a while I get an attack from the Godzilla League, complete with PVCs and AFIBs; vicious feedback loop from hell if you know what I mean. about. Tried all the other things, Xanax didn't help at all, Paxil turned me into a zombie, etc. I only take it when I need it; I often go days or weeks without using it. (I wouldn't recommend long term heavy use!) It was a godsend for me. I also have high blood pressure and industrial grade GERD, maybe I need to find a less stressful job...

Message

5 stars

Posted 221 months ago (7/1/2004) 5

Qualifiedwith panic disorder/agoraphobiaMessage

It does the trick for me, I have suffered from anxiety for about 12 years. Usually I just care, but every once in a while I get an attack from the Godzilla League, complete with PVCs and AFIBs; vicious feedback loop from hell if you know what I mean. about. Tried all the other things, Xanax didn't help at all, Paxil turned me into a zombie, etc. I only take it when I need it; I often go days or weeks without using it. (I wouldn't recommend long term heavy use!) It was a godsend for me. I also have high blood pressure and industrial grade GERD, maybe I need to find a less stressful job...

Message

3.5 stars

Posted 221 months ago (06/24/2004) 3

Qualifiedfor insomniaMessage

Ativan-Lorazapam I have had chronic insomnia for over 2-3 years. Now newly diagnosed with multiple sclerosis. I've tried everything = Sonata-Restoril-Ambien-Valium-Melatonin-Seroquel-Klonopin- and more that I can't remember. All common drugs, and even not so. I have to remember to take my Ativan 4mg early in the evening, around 8 or 9 pm. If it is after that time I have to take 3mg. Otherwise intake 4 mg. Late at night, in the morning I'm worthless. My short term memory is affected by my MS and it is not uncommon for me to forget to take my maintenance medication. I am a 48 year old mother with a very active 7 year old son. Sometimes I catch up with 5mg of Ritalin, as an energy boost for my general fatigue. This also needs to be taken early to be effective for me. Sometimes I fall asleep with headphones and a CD.

Message

3.5 stars

Posted 221 months ago (06/24/2004) 3

Qualifiedin generalized anxiety disorder (GAD)Message

Good medicine for me. I have been using lorazepam for about 2 years. I do not deviate from the dose of 1mg in the morning and 1mg in the evening. I started using it to calm down and keep my blood pressure down and have continued with no ill effects. I have diabetes and high blood pressure. Doctors have tried different blood pressure medications and they have all had negative side effects for me. I had a terrible cough from the ACE inhibitors. I had a headache and felt my blood flowing through my veins from some of the others. It wasn't worth it to feel so depressed and like my life was out of control with my blood pressure meds.

Message

4.5 stars

Posted 221 months ago (06/23/2004) 4

Qualifiedfor insomniaMessage

Years of pain A few years ago I had a serious accident that caused me back pain (I can't work anymore), a lot of pain, panic attacks and difficulty sleeping, so I took various medications for many years. I recently had back surgery which helped a lot with the pain, although the rear tires are light from lack of use. I still need sleeping pills. I take 1 Ativan before bed and 1 Ultram and sleep through the night. I don't know if the time will come when I will be able to sleep without the help of medication like before the accident.

Message

4 stars

Posted 222 months ago (06/14/2004) 4

Qualifiedwith panic disorder/agoraphobiaMessage

Ativan worked well, but I felt really sick all the time like I was throwing up, so I had to switch to oxazepam.

Message

4.5 stars

Posted 222 months ago (06/13/2004) 4

Qualifiedwith panic disorder/agoraphobiaMessage

I have found it to be very effective in getting me through the really bad days, the days when I can't function normally at all. I don't use it very often, but I feel so much better knowing I have it there in case I need it. As far as side effects, for me it depends on how much I'm taking and also seems to be affected by the other medications I'm taking. I used to take 1mg, sometimes even 2, but now (with Lithium, Wellbutrin and Seroquel) I feel really bad and don't feel good if I take a full mg, so I cut the dose in half. I have no side effects when the dosage is correct, other than a slight strange taste/feeling in my throat. What I don't like about it is that doctors are reluctant to give scripts for it, and I always worry that one day my access will be blocked. I certainly don't abuse (and I honestly don't understand how anyone does) and I haven't developed a tolerance.

Message

2.5 stars

Posted 222 months ago (06/11/2004) 2

Qualifiedfor OCDMessage

ativan I took this medication as needed for Anixety. This medicine was good for side effects but it never worked for me.

Message

4.5 stars

Posted 222 months ago (06/11/2004) 4

Qualifiedin generalized anxiety disorder (GAD)Message

Ativan works perfectly to correct anxiety but the doctor doesn't give it to me anymore. He gave me too high. It worked so well that you can see why it is addictive. If I didn't take a pill I'd feel like shit. Tranquilizers are very sensitive, especially when taken out of fear. They work well, but are dangerous in the long run.

Message

4 stars

Posted 222 months ago (06/10/2004) 4

Qualifiedwith panic disorder/agoraphobiaMessage

Lorazepam Girl I started taking Ativan when I was diagnosed with panic disorder. I was 19 at the time and weaned until I insisted I needed it again and took it for several months, taking more than I was supposed to take each day, eventually leading to my becoming dependent or addicted. I have gradually been weaned off and feel much clearer in my head!

Message

2 stars

Posted 222 months ago (06/10/2004) 2

Qualifiedfor bipolar I disorderMessage

Just another benzo, see my Xanax review. To me all benzos are the same.

Message

3 star

Posted 222 months ago (06/08/2004) 3

Qualifiedin generalized anxiety disorder (GAD)Message

I don't bite much... I suffer from Acute Panic Disorder and GAD and have been on Effexor, a Benzo and something else (Remeron at the moment) for almost 2 years now. The two favorites my doctor prescribes are Ativan and Clonopin. I've spent the last two years mostly taking Ativan 1mg at 10pm. m. to relieve hypomanic symptoms caused by my Effexor and disorder and I have to be honest I don't think it ever did anything with regular use. I just switched back to K-Pin and boy does it help. I'd rather be a little groggy on drugs that work than sleep powerless on drugs that don't work.

Message

3 star

Posted 222 months ago (06/08/2004) 3

Qualifiedwith panic disorder/agoraphobiaMessage

I don't bite much... I suffer from Acute Panic Disorder and GAD and have been on Effexor, a Benzo and something else (Remeron at the moment) for almost 2 years now. The two favorites my doctor prescribes are Ativan and Clonopin. I've spent the last two years mostly taking Ativan 1mg at 10pm. m. to relieve hypomanic symptoms caused by my Effexor and disorder and I have to be honest I don't think it ever did anything with regular use. I just switched back to K-Pin and boy does it help. I'd rather be a little groggy on drugs that work than sleep powerless on drugs that don't work.

Message

5 stars

Published 222 months ago (31/5/2004) 5

Qualifiedwith panic disorder/agoraphobiaMessage

Ativan Sublingual gets me through tough days I give Ativan Sublingual dexterity. I only use it when I need to and can function without anxiety on days that I know are going to be stressful. It dissolves quickly under the tongue and kicks in about 45 minutes later and gets me through a full day on 1mg. Thank you very much

Message

4.5 stars

Published 222 months ago (25/05/2004) 4

Qualifiedwith panic disorder/agoraphobiaMessage

Occasional use, I don't use it daily or weekly, only when I have a panic attack or really can't get to sleep. It works well for these purposes, although in recent years I have noticed that even though I don't take it regularly, it gradually becomes less effective.

Message

Qualifiedfor insomniaMessage

Occasional use, I don't use it daily or weekly, only when I have a panic attack or really can't get to sleep. It works well for these purposes, although in recent years I have noticed that even though I don't take it regularly, it gradually becomes less effective.

Message

5 stars

Posted 223 months ago (04/29/2004) 5

Qualifiedin generalized anxiety disorder (GAD)Message

Ativan is sent by God. Ativan has always worked for me, several doctors have tried me with Paxil, Effexor, etc. The problem with them is that they make me worse and take longer to work. When you're having a severe panic attack or you're just scared, you just want it to stop. Well, ativan does it perfectly, with no side effects whatsoever!

Message

4.5 stars

Posted 223 months ago (04/29/2004) 4

Qualifiedfor insomniaMessage

Ativan softens the day as I recently started taking Ativan when I needed it to help me fall asleep. I have tried other remedies both pres. and no. and i found that ativan works quite well. Every once in a while I get a slight morning hangover, but only once in a while, not always.

Message

5 stars

Posted 223 months ago (04/29/2004) 5

Qualifiedin generalized anxiety disorder (GAD)Message

Lorazepam has been suffering from panic attacks and anxiety disorders for years. Lorazepam worked for me right away. I have lowered the dosage at times and there are times when I may need to go back up. But it worked great for me. Its disadvantage is that it can be addictive.

Message

4 stars

Posted 223 months ago (04/28/2004) 4

Qualifiedwith panic disorder/agoraphobiaMessage

Exceptionally! I suffer from agoraphobia, I was homebound for years until it was time to sell and move to Kent, which was an hour's drive away on the motorway. Just walking the block sent me into the most horrible panic attacks where I had difficulty swallowing, heart palpitations, hyperventilation, etc. I couldn't even imagine this trip if 5 minutes from home were enough! Lorazepam literally saved my life as I was in terrible condition. In the morning we left I took 1mg and along with the TFT technique it was great. I took 0.5mg when faced with an overwhelming situation. I don't take it all the time because I know I need to be able to handle it myself, but when I do it's fantastic. The downside is that it makes me very tired, I'm fine when I'm out, but when I get home I feel exhausted. I also had really horrible nightmares, something I hadn't had before. I am currently trying Propranolol to see how it works as I can't stand the nightmares anymore, has anyone else had this problem? I would only recommend them for emergencies.

Message

4.5 stars

Published 224 months ago (04/16/2004) 4

Qualifiedin post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)Message

Instant Peace of Mind for the Troubled Ativan is a powerful and addictive tranquilizer that should be used sparingly to prevent addiction. If you can't fall asleep because you hear voices that aren't there, have lost a loved one, are suffering from post-traumatic stress, have an internal dialogue that you can't turn off, or something like that, this could be the case and be a very effective treatment. The problem is that after taking it you can feel better than ever in your life. If you've heard of pill addicts but thought this would never happen to you, give Ativan a try and see if you can resist the temptation. Countless doctors are secretly addicted to this drug, and not without reason: Ativan can completely eliminate stress and anxiety. It is likely that after taking it you will feel so good that you do not want to go back to sleep and just want to stay awake and enjoy its glow. But if you want to sleep, you will. This drug gives you a lot of control over your thoughts.

Message

4.5 stars

Published 224 months ago (04/16/2004) 4

Qualifiedfor insomniaMessage

Instant Peace of Mind for the Troubled Ativan is a powerful and addictive tranquilizer that should be used sparingly to prevent addiction. If you can't fall asleep because you hear voices that aren't there, have lost a loved one, are suffering from post-traumatic stress, have an internal dialogue that you can't turn off, or something like that, this could be the case and be a very effective treatment. The problem is that after taking it you can feel better than ever in your life. If you've heard of pill addicts but thought this would never happen to you, give Ativan a try and see if you can resist the temptation. Countless doctors are secretly addicted to this drug, and not without reason: Ativan can completely eliminate stress and anxiety. It is likely that after taking it you will feel so good that you do not want to go back to sleep and just want to stay awake and enjoy its glow. But if you want to sleep, you will. This drug gives you a lot of control over your thoughts.

Message

3.5 stars

Posted 224 months ago (04/14/2004) 3

Qualifiedin generalized anxiety disorder (GAD)Message

No major competitor, Ativan, seems to be more effective for general anxiety in the long run, offering a smooth transition to relaxation and lasting a decent amount of time. Xanax is more effective for panic attacks because it works faster and is stronger, but it can be a rough ride once the drug wears off. Ativan can also promote feelings of well-being, so I can see how it could be addictive if not taken correctly.

Message

3.5 stars

Posted 224 months ago (04/14/2004) 3

Qualifiedwith panic disorder/agoraphobiaMessage

No major competitor, Ativan, seems to be more effective for general anxiety in the long run, offering a smooth transition to relaxation and lasting a decent amount of time. Xanax is more effective for panic attacks because it works faster and is stronger, but it can be a rough ride once the drug wears off. Ativan can also promote feelings of well-being, so I can see how it could be addictive if not taken correctly.

Message

Qualifiedwith panic disorder/agoraphobiaMessage

My God! About two months ago I had severe chest pains and anxiety attacks. I couldn't breathe. I swear I had a heart attack and I'm 24 years old. Is that possible? I thought. The medical center I tried to contact referred me to the ER because the doctor was out. I'm with the coast guard, so it's hard for an HS to see you when the doc isn't around. I went to the ER and they hooked me up for an EKG. The PA was saying your heart looks fine and I was like no, I think it's broken. I missed my family so much and the Alaskan weather was not helping me. So he put me on Ativan. IT'S OKAY. these things will put you in a coma (not literally) but they will make you extremely tired. It was so difficult to fulfill my duties. It really affected my judgment and my memory seemed fried. But he still had problems. I would cry all the time. I remember telling my XO that I just couldn't be happy. I was so desperate. I also had many hallucinations. $&!@ crawl on my walls and terrifyingly vivid dreams. I would wake up and think: was that real? It's not good for the job I do. So they took me off the Ativan and put me on the Lexapro for anxiety and depression. If you want to read more about my progress, go to my profile and connect.

Message

2.5 stars

Posted 224 months ago (4/3/2004) 2

Qualifiedin post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)Message

Not effective for PTSD Ativan was prescribed for insomnia due to PTSD. It seemed to work the first night, but after that I had no more calming effects. I continued to wake up with anxiety every night whether I took it or not.

Message

1.5 stars

Posted 224 months ago (03/29/2004) 1

Qualifiedwith panic disorder/agoraphobiaMessage

Ativan Demon Drug Ativan... the name alone sends shivers down my spine. I took Ativan for my frequent panic attacks that started when I was 17 years old. I was prescribed Ativan when I was 30 (I'm 50 now) and it worked...for a while. Then I had to have more and more to keep the panic attacks at bay. I went to 2 different doctors to get enough pills and finally got down to ten 2mg pills a day. Ativan grabbed me so tightly I felt like a priest was exorcising me to stop using it. I finally said, "Not anymore." I told my doctor what he had done and he prescribed a low dose of Klonopin. The Ativan withdrawals were excruciating, but Klonopin helped tremendously. I have been taking Klonopin 3 mg daily for 15 years and it is the most amazing panic disorder medication I have ever used. It doesn't give you the highs and lows of the "Pam" drugs. When used correctly, panic attacks can be kept completely at bay for years. Works for me.

Message

5 stars

Posted 225 months ago (03/14/2004) 5

Qualifiedfor insomniaMessage

It works better than anything I know of. . . I'm probably already addicted; I took 1mg. Pill before going to bed for about 2 months; I eventually freaked out reading about the addictive potential, so I stopped taking it; Well there were nights over a 3 week period where I literally didn't sleep; maybe I fell asleep at 3 am and got up at 6 am. It was a pure and living hell. I have had trouble sleeping for many years; I've tried just about everything, and I think if that's enough, "addiction" is better than no sleep. Acts quickly, sometimes slightly increases tolerance, no hangover. If you have been difficult to deal with, it is worth a try. . . Good luck!

Message

3.5 stars

Posted 225 months ago (03/10/2004) 3

Qualifiedwith panic disorder/agoraphobiaMessage

Not impressed. Not what I expected. I find Klonopin much more effective.

Message

4 stars

Posted 225 months ago (3/4/2004) 4

Qualifiedin generalized anxiety disorder (GAD)Message

It worked well, but Baaaad Withdrawal also has antidepressant effects, which was good. Withdrawal was murder after just 3 weeks of 0.5mg 3 times a day.

Message

4 stars

Posted 225 months ago (02/22/2004) 4

Qualifiedfor social phobia (social anxiety disorder)Message

Good Benzo - Compare to Xanax and Klonopin Here's my 2 cent value for Ativan: It's a great drug with few side effects. The only problem is IMHO there are better benzos IF you can get your doctor to prescribe them like xanax and clonazepam. Ativan works, don't get me wrong, and I liked its effects. It just didn't feel as clean and smooth as Xanax, for example. Both drugs have relatively short half-lives, meaning they don't stay in the body very long. Klonopin (clonazepam), on the other hand, has a half-life of about 36 hours, making it a very long-acting medication for anxiety disorders, as you probably know. On a scale of 1 to 10, I would give Ativan a 7 or 8, while I would give Xanax a 9 and Klonopin probably an 8 or 9 as well. They all have minor side effects that usually go away after about a week. Hang in there... there is hope for chronic anxiety issues, and Ativan is a good drug, although not my personal favorite.

Message

4.5 stars

Posted 225 months ago (02/17/2004) 4

Qualifiedfor insomniaMessage

Ativan for GAD/Insomnia Ativan (lorazepam) has been very good for me. In general, using it for insomnia is probably not the smart thing to do. Many people find that it can lose its effectiveness if used too often. However, I personally like to use it for both general anxiety and insomnia. I almost always use the same dose daily. One 2 mg tablet at bedtime. Due to constant use, it has lost some of its potency at this dose. HOWEVER... I hasten to point out that it still works. It is important to note that I also take PAXIL for MAJOR DEPRESSION. (unipolar) (1) 20 mg tablet per night. The combination of these two drugs is excellent for me. I should probably take something else for insomnia so I can only use Ativan (lorazepam) for anxiety. But I really hate taking too much medication. Just with PAXIL and Ativan, I suddenly get good results for depression, anxiety, and insomnia. I only take these things at night. I hate having to take something 2 or 3 times a day. That's enough to drive anyone crazy. I have to admit that the lorazepam wears off as the day progresses. When I'm ready to take the next dose, I tend to get a little bit of anxiety that's starting to come back. So I take the normal dose of each medication. Then I wait like 1 hour for them to come in. By the way, Ativan can take effect in about 10 minutes if you are not used to it. It's a very friendly thing. A word of caution... Ativan can be addictive! Being addicted to something that helps you a lot is not always a bad thing. However, severe or "out of control" addiction can be a real problem. My advice... don't increase the dosage just to keep the effects at their fullest potential. It's a sure way to get hooked if you do it all the time. It makes more sense to increase the dosage for only a short time. Like a night or two. Then return to the normal dose for a

Message

4.5 stars

Posted 226 months ago (02/13/2004) 4

Qualifiedfor bipolar I disorderMessage

safe no problem I have been using lorazepam off and on in varying doses to treat panic attacks for almost a year now. I have also used it to treat insomnia and to get rid of mania (bipolar disorder). It is cheap, safe and effective. I have not noticed any problems and I have not had to significantly increase the dosage.

Message

anterior
14 of 17
next
Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Arline Emard IV

Last Updated: 02/07/2023

Views: 5569

Rating: 4.1 / 5 (52 voted)

Reviews: 91% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Arline Emard IV

Birthday: 1996-07-10

Address: 8912 Hintz Shore, West Louie, AZ 69363-0747

Phone: +13454700762376

Job: Administration Technician

Hobby: Paintball, Horseback riding, Cycling, Running, Macrame, Playing musical instruments, Soapmaking

Introduction: My name is Arline Emard IV, I am a cheerful, gorgeous, colorful, joyous, excited, super, inquisitive person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.